About Us

Corsham Civic Society was founded in 1963 to represent the people of Corsham in all aspects of conservation, preservation and the promotion of this delightful Wiltshire town.

The Society is a Registered Charity and a member of The Historic Towns & Villages Forum (HTVF).

It is our aim to promote high standards of planning and architecture, to create a wider awareness amongst the local population of environmental issues, the geography, history, natural history and architecture of the area, and to secure the preservation, protection, and improvement of features of public amenity and/or historical interest, both in Corsham and in the surrounding countryside.

Our overall purpose is to engender pride in our town and to contribute towards the vitality and well-being of Corsham’s residents and that of its neighbouring villages

Monthly Meetings

The society holds monthly meetings and talks at The Pound Arts Centre. Click here to view a calendar of events.

Send us an e-mail

15 + 14 =


Why join the Corsham Civic Society?

  • Become a member of an active society with progressive ideas on how the town and its surrounding district can be enhanced, yet at the same time, preserving buildings, open spaces for future generations to enjoy.
  • There are at least 7 meetings a year, currently held at The Pound Arts Centre and a wide range of topics are delivered. 
  • The Society’s has a varied programme of events throughout the year, listed on this website – please check the events list for specific details
  • The Annual General Meeting is held in May at Corsham Town Hall and a cheese and wine buffet is available at the end of this meeting.
  • The Society’s magazine ‘Spotlight’ is published 3 times a year.
  • Other trips, visits and social events are part of the programmer throughout the year

The Pound Arts Centre, where meetings are helds.


For enquiries about membership, please contact Michael Rumsey on 01249 715741 or 07767 371485 or email corshamcivicsociety@gmail.com

Alternatively write to
Michael Rumsey, 91 Tellcroft Close, Corsham, Wiltshire SN13 9JQ.

The membership fees for 2022/23 are:

  • Annual Membership – £15
  • Annual Joint Membership – £12 each
  • Five-year Membership fee – £60
  • Junior Membership – £1

Our History

Chairpersons through time

1983 – 2003 Anne Lock
2003 – 2006 Peter Tapscott
2006 – 2008 Wyndham Thomas                    2008 – 2009 Les Davis
2009 – 2022 Michael Rumsey
2022 – 2023 John Maloney

Presidents through time

1970 – 1974  Lord Methuen
1974 – 1980  Oswald Brakspear
1980 – 1992  Robin Eden
1992 – 1994  Brenda Forbes
1994 – 2007  Anne Greenly
2008 – present Anne Lock

Current President Anne Lock

From the earliest Constitution dated 17th May 1963

The objects of the society shall be:

  • To promote the study of civic design
  • To stimulate public consciousness and appreciation of the beauty, history, and character of the Parish of Corsham
  • To encourage the preservation, development, and improvement of the features which go to make pleasing and convenient conditions in which to live and work.
  • To pursue these ends by such means or meetings, lectures, study groups, exhibitions, and publications.
  • To make informed representation were necessary to the appropriate authority and mobilise public opinion in support of these aims.

Lady at Prayer

It was Robin Eden’s idea to ask the Bath Academy of Art for a tangible memorial to the years during which they were based in Corsham. The sculpture “Lady at Prayer” by Ian Cotton was presented by him and she now resides in the Library.


Executive Committee Members

Acting Chairman

Michael Rumsey


Cath Maloney

acting treasurer

Chris Johnson

membership secretary

Michael Rumsey


Jujar Garcha

programme organiser

Pat Whalley

Social organiser


planning matters

John Maloney


Chris Johnson


Dr. Negley Harte


Jane Cox

website editor

Corsham Print



Anne Lock

vice president

Geoff Knapp

vice president

Pat Whalley

vice president

Roger Clifton

vice President

Kathy Thomas

vice president

Dr. Negley Harte

vice president

Mrs Jean Beech

vice president

Michael Rumsey