The Regal Cinema in 1964. The central and right hand first floor windows were the projection room. The iron ladder under the top right window was the fire escape from the projection room. The stairs to the balcony were behind the left hand windows and there was a small box office behind the win- dow to the right of the doors.

Step back into Corsham's cinematic past

In 1929 a fairground operator named H. Andrews had plans drawn up for a cinema in Pickwick Road, at the junction of what is now Newlands Road, by a Trowbridge architect. Plans for the Picture House show a hall of a basic design,…